Converting Raw to Scaled Score

How do I convert my LSAT section exam raw score to a scaled score?

Nathan Hamilton avatar
Written by Nathan Hamilton
Updated over a week ago

If you took a Blueprint LSAT Practice Exam in sections, you may have noticed that a scaled score is not provided and are wondering how to find your scaled score. The LSAC does not provide section scores, so this article will help you convert your raw score to a scaled score!

Your raw score is the total number of questions that you got correct, while a scaled score converts this number into a score between 120 and 180. It is important to note, however, that taking the exam under timed, test-like conditions differs from taking the exam in sections, so your raw score from a section exam may not provide an accurate representation of the score you would have received had you taken the exam as a full-length. While converting your raw score from a section exam to a scaled will provide an estimate of where you are currently scoring, it is still important to take full-length practice exams under timed, test-like conditions to get a better idea of how you would score on the official exam.

The LSAT exam includes four sections - two, scored Logical Reasoning sections and one, scored Reading Comprehension section, plus one unscored section of either Logical Reasoning or Reading Comprehension. Since only three of the four sections are scored, you will only count these scored sections when converting your raw score to your scaled score.

The first step is to establish which sections are the scored sections and which section is the experimental section. When reviewing an exam in your Blueprint account, you can see which section each question is from near the top-center of the page. The experimental section will be from a different practice exam than the other three sections.

You can also use the chart below to see which sections we use for each Blueprint exam.

Blueprint Practice Exam Title (2024 Version)

LawHub PrepTest Number (2024 Version)

Blueprint Section Exam Numbers

Practice Exam 1


(formerly PT73 + PT70S3 experimental)

PT73 - LR Section 1

PT73 - LR Section 2

PT73 - RC

PT70 - RC

Practice Exam 2


(formerly PT83 +PT72S3 experimental)

PT83 - LR Section 1

PT83 - LR Section 2

PT83 - RC

PT72 - LR Section 2

Practice Exam 3


(formerly PT84 + PT81S1 experimental)

PT84 - LR Section 1

PT84 - LR Section 2

PT84 - RC

PT81 - RC

Practice Exam 4


(formerly PT78 + PT81S2 experimental)

PT78 - LR Section 1

PT78 - LR Section 2

PT78 - RC

PT81 - LR Section 1

Practice Exam 5


(formerly PT85 + PT81S3 experimental)

PT85 - LR Section 1

PT85 - LR Section 2

PT85 - RC

PT81 - LR Section 2

Practice Exam 6


(formerly PT89 + PT82S1 experimental)

PT88 - LR Section 1

PT88 - LR Section 2

PT88 - RC

PT82 - LR Section 2

Practice Exam 7


(formerly PT89 + PT92S1 experimental)

PT89 - LR Section 1

PT89 - LR Section 2

PT89 - RC

PT92 - LR Section 2

Practice Exam 8


(formerly PT90 +PT91S2 experimental)

PT90 - LR Section 1

PT90 - LR Section 2

PT90 - RC

PT91 - LR Section 1

Practice Exam 9


(formerly PT93 + PT91S4 experimental)

PT93 - LR Section 1

PT93 - LR Section 2

PT93 - RC

PT91 - RC

Practice Exam 10


(formerly PT94 + PT92S3 experimental)

PT94 - LR Section 1

PT94 - LR Section 2

PT94 - RC

PT92 - RC

From there, add up the total number of questions you got correct for each of the scored sections. There are approximately 24-27 questions in each section of the exam, so the maximum raw score you can achieve will be around 75.

Once you have established your raw score, use the LSAC's latest sample score conversion chart to find the exam you took and convert that raw score into a scaled score from 120-180. You can use the middle column of the above chart to find the PrepTest number associated with each Blueprint exam. There is a predetermined scale for each administered test that the LSAC tests vigorously to make sure it remains constant throughout all administered LSAT exams, meaning that if a person were to take two different tests, they would be expected to do roughly the same on both.

And that’s it - you should now be able to calculate a scaled score for any exam you took in sections!

Did this answer your question?